Please click here for regular updates about Just-A-Start’s programs and services in response to the COVID-19 outbreak.

Find Housing

Rent an Apartment

As part of its core mission, Just-A-Start owns affordable apartments to help residents with low- to moderate-incomes to live in Cambridge at rents that are within their means. JAS rents and maintains nearly 600 apartments across the city, ranging in size from studios to 5-bedrooms.

Please click here to view an interactive map of all of Just-A-Start’s rental properties.

JAS works with Maloney Properties and Wingate Properties to manage the housing application process and provide quality property management. The chart below includes the addresses and contact information for each JAS property, and each property maintains its own list.

To apply to rent a Just-A-Start apartment: Please contact any and all properties you may be interested in (below) to begin the application process. Thank you!

Property Name Address City Contact Information
Rindge Tower Apartments 402 Rindge Ave Cambridge 402Rindge@wingatecompanies.com
Squirrelwood Apartments 12 Boardman Street Cambridge https://www.maloneyproperties.com/rentals/squirrel-brand/
George Close Building 243 Broadway Cambridge https://www.maloneyproperties.com/rentals/close-building/
Scouting Way 144-156 Prospect, 6-12 Scouting Cambridge https://www.maloneyproperties.com/rentals/scouting-way/
Norfolk Street 55 & 59 Norfolk St. Cambridge https://www.maloneyproperties.com/rentals/norfolk-street/
Elm Place 1066 Cambridge St. Cambridge Contact Maloney Properties at (617) 661-7190 or jas@maloneyproperties.com
Bishop Allen 70 & 77 Bishop Allen Dr. Cambridge Contact Maloney Properties at (617) 661-7190 or jas@maloneyproperties.com
301 Medford St. 301 Medford Street Somerville Contact Maloney Properties at (617) 661-7190 or jas@maloneyproperties.com
Hovey Ave. 35 Hovey Ave. Cambridge https://www.maloneyproperties.com/rentals/hovey-avenue-apartments/
Linwood/Squirrelwood Apartments 261 Market Street Cambridge https://www.maloneyproperties.com/rentals/linwood-court/
St. Patricks Place 50 York Street Cambridge https://www.maloneyproperties.com/rentals/st-patricks-place/
Putnam Place 264 Putnam Ave. Cambridge https://www.maloneyproperties.com/rentals/putnam-place/
Churchill Court 2505- 2529 Mass Ave. Cambridge https://www.maloneyproperties.com/rentals/churchill-court/
Webster Bristol Apt. 67-73 Webster Ave. Cambridge https://www.maloneyproperties.com/rentals/webster-bristol/
72 Elm St 72 Elm St. Cambridge https://www.maloneyproperties.com/rentals/72-elm-street/
54 Berkshire St. 54-56 Berkshire St. Cambridge https://www.maloneyproperties.com/rentals/54-berkshire-apartments/
Cardinal Medeiros 409 Cardinal Medieros Ave Cambridge https://www.maloneyproperties.com/rentals/cardinal-medeiros/
Otis Apts. 206 Otis Street Cambridge https://www.maloneyproperties.com/rentals/otis-apartments/
Trembridge 1179 Cambridge Street Cambridge https://www.maloneyproperties.com/rentals/trembridge/

 

Buy an Affordable Home

There are more than 500 affordable homes in the City of Cambridge. Just-A-Start works with the City of Cambridge to maintain and re-sell these homes to provide affordable homeownership opportunities to more people.

When a current owner decides to sell their home, a new buyer is selected from the Homeownership Resale Pool administered by the City of Cambridge’s Housing Division.

Please visit the City’s website for more information about the affordable homeownership program.

A copy of the homeownership application can be found here.