Please click here for regular updates about Just-A-Start’s programs and services in response to the COVID-19 outbreak.

JAS COVID-19 Updates

Just-A-Start wants to share as much information as possible about changes to the organization’s programs and resources in response to the COVID-19 outbreak. Please know that our first priority is the safety and well-being of each and every member of our community, and that we are committed to doing our part to help slow the transmission of the virus and support individuals and families in need.

This page provides information about our programs as we continue to adapt and serve our community.

GENERAL JAS OPERATIONS

To support social distancing and slow the spread of the virus, many of JAS’s operations have moved to a remote format. Staff are continuing their work and are available by email, phone, and videoconference. Phone numbers are listed on the staff page of this website. The office is closed to visitors except by appointment with your particular program. Please call the main office number at 617-494-0444 if you need general assistance.

BIOMEDICAL CAREERS PROGRAM

The Biomedical Careers Program is continuing remotely until further notice. For information about applying to the program, please contact Tanya Quintanilla at tanyaquintanilla@justastart.org.

IT CAREERS PROGRAM

The IT Careers Program is continuing remotely until further notice. For information about applying to the program, please contact Tanya Quintanilla at tanyaquintanilla@justastart.org.

JAS YOUTHBUILD

Just-A-Start YouthBuild is continuing remotely. For information about applying to Just-A-Start YouthBuild, please contact Tori Perrakis at victoriaperrakis@justastart.org.

FOOD DISTRIBUTION 

Food For Free is delivering pre-bagged food periodically through the crisis to Cambridge residents who cannot afford food. If you are a JAS resident or student and experiencing a food emergency, please let your Resident Service Coordinator or teacher know and we will add you to the Food for Free list or connect you with resources.

FINANCIAL COACHING

Financial Coaching services are continuing virtually and in-person by appointment when necessary. For more information on appointments, please contact Ian Davis at iandavis@justastart.org.

RESIDENT SERVICES

For JAS residents who live at 402 Rindge, please contact Nancy Porcaro at nancyporcaro@justastart.org  or leave a message at 617-918-7556. For JAS residents who live at other locations, please contact Pierre Fils-Aime at pierrefilsaime@justastart.org or leave a message at 617-341-8164. To follow physical distancing guidelines, no walk-ins please.

EMERGENCY EVICTION PREVENTION OR APARTMENT DEPOSITS

For more information, contact Elizabeth Winston at elizabethwinston@justastart.org.

HOME IMPROVEMENT LOAN PROGRAM

For more information, contact Ethan Solomon at ethansolomon@justastart.org. If you have an existing HIP payback loan and have been financially impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic, you can opt-in to a three month payment deferral to assist during this difficult time. Please look for a letter in the mail about this loan deferral from our loan servicer (Capital For Change). The letter and application for the deferral can also be found here: letter /application.

FAMILIES MOVING FORWARD

The application period for the program is now closed. Please contact Tessa Byer at tessabyer@justastart.org for more information.

REAL ESTATE DEVELOPMENT

For general inquiries related to Real Estate Development, please contact Noah Sawyer at noahsawyer@justastart.org.