Please click here for regular updates about Just-A-Start’s programs and services in response to the COVID-19 outbreak.

JAS COVID-19 Updates

Just-A-Start (JAS) wants to share as much information as possible about changes to the organization’s programs and resources, in response to the COVID-19 outbreak. Please know that JAS’s first priority is the safety and well-being of each and every member of our community, and that we will do our part to help slow the transmission of the virus and support families in need.

This page provides information about Just-A-Start’s (JAS’s) programs and the date on which these updates were compiled. Please check this site regularly, as this information may change.

GENERAL JAS OPERATIONS: (updated 3/25/20): To support social distancing and slow the spread of the virus, many of JAS’s operations are moving to a remote format. JAS offices are currently closed. Staff will continue their work and will be available as needed by email, phone, and videoconference. Phone numbers are listed on the staff page of this web site. The main office number is 617-494-0444; messages will be checked daily.

BIOMEDICAL CAREERS PROGRAM (updated 3/24/20): The Biomedical Careers Program has a planned spring break the week of March 16. The program will resume on Monday, March 23, remotely, until further notice. For more information, contact Korynn Stoyanoff at korynnstoyanoff@justastart.org. The Biomedical Careers Program will start recruiting for the next cohorts later this spring. For information about the application process, contact Tanya Quintanilla at tanyaquintanilla@justastart.org.

IT CAREERS PROGRAM (updated 3/24/20): The IT Careers Program has a planned spring break the week of March 16. The program will resume on Monday, March 23, remotely, until further notice. For more information, contact Korynn Stoyanoff at korynnstoyanoff@justastart.org. The IT Careers Program will start recruiting for the next cohorts later this spring. For information about the application process, contact Tanya Quintanilla at tanyaquintanilla@justastart.org.

JAS YOUTHBUILD (updated 3/16/20): JAS YouthBuild classes have been suspended and will resume remotely. For more information, contact Jesse Lyons at jesselyons@justastart.org. YouthBuild will resume recruiting for the next cohort in the coming weeks. For information about the application process, contact Tori Perrakis at victoriaperrakis@justastart.org.

FOOD DISTRIBUTION (updated 3/19/20): Food For Free is working to deliver pre-bagged food periodically through the crisis to Cambridge residents who cannot afford food. If you are a JAS resident or student and experiencing a food emergency, please let your Resident Service Coordinator or teacher know and we will add you to the Food for Free list or try to connect you with resources.

FINANCIAL COACHING: (updated 3/16/20): For more information on remote assistance, contact Ian Davis at iandavis@justastart.org.

TAX PREPARATION: (updated 3/23/20): The tax site will be closed until April 7th.  We will re-open as a “scan and go” site where your documents are scanned and the filer leaves.  We will then contact you when your return is ready for review. Tax prep volunteers will work remotely.  For more information, contact Ian Davis at iandavis@justastart.org or leave a message at 617-918-7504.

RESIDENT SERVICES: (updated 3/25/20): For JAS residents who live at 402 Rindge, please contact Nancy Porcaro at nancyporcaro@justastart.org  or leave a message at 617-918-7556. For JAS residents who live at other locations, please contact Pierre Fils-Aime at pierrefilsaime@justastart.org or leave a message at 617-341-8164. No walk-ins please.

EMERGENCY EVICTION PREVENTION OR APARTMENT DEPOSITS: (updated 3/16/20): For more information, contact Elizabeth Winston at elizabethwinston@justastart.org. No walk-ins please.

HOME IMPROVEMENT LOAN PROGRAM: (updated 3/25/20): For more information, contact Ethan Solomon at ethansolomon@justastart.org. No walk-ins please.

FAMILIES MOVING FORWARD: (updated 3/16/20): The one month application period will be extended due to the coronavirus. You may still apply on-line or mail in an application. No drop-offs please. Contact Tessa Byer at tessabyer@justastart.org for more information.

REAL ESTATE DEVELOPMENT: (updated 3/16/20): The JAS Real Estate team is working remotely. For general inquiries, please contact Noah Sawyer at noahsawyer@justastart.org.